The Handwritten Note

Did you know that January 23rd was National Handwriting Day? I did not. But I do know the importance of The Art of The Handwritten Note. I was fortunate to have learned this art, at a young age, from my Mother. In this age of technology, more than ever before, the handwritten note takes on more importance.

There is a sense of excitement that arises when, among the bills and standard mail, we find a handwritten note. The thoughtfulness that arrives under the sealed envelope instantly brings cheer to the receiver. The few moments of penning your thoughts gains lasting impact to those that receive them. Penned notes written by hand are not only filled with sentiments and purpose, but may be read more than once. I often add these special notes received to the refrigerator or my inspiration board. Not only the thoughtfulness that went into writing them, but the beautiful stationary that the words were penned on have meaning. Appreciating the thoughtfulness, admiring the beautiful, unique stationary and reflecting on the purpose of the card…. Lifes small details which bring joy. Elegance in appreciation.

The most typical hand written note is the “Thank you” note. It is perhaps more common to pen our thanks after gifts are received. It is almost expected. But what about acknowledging a special act of kindness towards you or simply letting a friend know that you appreciate them? As the handwritten note is an important part of the Art of Etiquette, failing to say “Thank You” to a host that provided you an enjoyable experience is perhaps the greatest failure as a guest. When you consider the time the host took in planning and preparing the event, it should be clear that a hand crafted note is in order. In regards to the technology aspect of writing “Thank You”, I do not believe that a “Facebook” message or an email version of a thank you is the most gracious way to relay your gratitude. I suppose it is better than nothing, however. Alas, in defense and in praise of The Handwritten Note, there is no replacement. In addition, writing the note in a timely manner is also important. However, better late than never is good philosophy to follow!

I thoroughly enjoy perusing beautiful stationary stores. I am always looking for that perfect, inspiring box of note cards. (A few of my favorite brands are pictured above). Variety! Finding cards that represent my style and taste not only sends my words to the receiver, but becomes an expression of me. There are beautiful note cards, flat panel cards and stationary to choose from. In addition, the options for personalizing are many. The options and choices are yours! The key is to make it a goal to take the time and commit to crafting personal correspondence.

The New Year is still fresh. Begin the new year following this timeless art. By the way, it is never too late to send a note that should have gone out over the Holidays….
Again, better late than never!

Kristin

8 thoughts on “The Handwritten Note

  1. Hello ! I saw your weblog and I definitely like it…the style is incredibly excellent.Did you do it your self or utilised a template? ( i searched on world-wide-web and i saw there are actually numerous for wordpress) I don’t have yet a domain but I will get one particular so i can weblog myself too.Anyway good information and great web page…btw I hope Good luck

  2. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research about this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I am very glad to see such excellent information being shared freely out there.

  3. Great! I have to say that, I’m impressed with your website. I found it so simple to browse through. The material you write about is high class. I will obviously come back to you in search for encouragement and concepts.

    1. I am thrilled that you find the material I write about as being ‘high class’. That is really a tremendous compliment-thank you for sharing. It’s nice to hear that the site is simple to browse through, too!
      Please do return!

Leave a Reply

